Interview with Mintbox President Pialy Aditya

25 Aug

Pialy Aditya is a fashionista with a MBA from Harvard and happens to be the President and Co-Founder of Mintbox. Checkout my interview with her below and don’t forget to join Mintbox!!


I Heart Mintbox: A Talk with President & Co-Founder, Pialy Aditya


Have you heard of Mintbox.com? It’s a sweet site and now one of my favorites! It’s a members only site that provides exclusive discounts and unique style experiences to it’s members from emerging designers to established fashion houses we all love. Yeah, like what? Ok, by joining Mintbox you can receive up to 15% cash back on every purchase made through Mintbox, exclusive discounts from luxury brands, and maybe an invite to a fashion show or event. After hearing all of this for the first time I thought it was such a great idea I had to talk to the President and Co-Founder of the site, Pialy Aditya to find out more aboutMintbox. Below an exclusive invite code to MintBox!


QF: How did you come up with the idea to start your own site, Mintbox, wherein the member is not just given discounts for designer and luxury items, but is also given V.I.P. treatment by being invited to exclusive events, fashion shows, and designer previews?

Pialy: I’m that girl who spends a lot of money shopping in-store and online.  But give me a discount or invite me to an in-store shopping event and I go charge happy! There are a few stores that I frequent often but wondered why they don’t reward me for my loyalty.  And I’m not interested in holding yet another retailer loyalty or credit card in my wallet.  If they just catered a bit more to me, I would be fiercely loyal.

That’s what Mintbox is about – it’s about helping fashion and beauty retailers identify who their best customers are and treating them special with perks that only industry insiders would normally be able to get. We’re introducing new categories including children, home, travel, food, wine, entertainment, and more.

In New York, it’s easy for us to find and purchase items from designers – established or emerging.  But it’s hard when you’re not living in a big city.  Mintbox bridges that gap by connecting retailers with customers around the US and the world who don’t necessarily have access to each other…

QF: How does one become a member of your exclusive site?

Pialy: Be a reader of your blog, of course!  The easiest way to become a member is to have a Mintbox “insider” invite you. Otherwise, you can always request membership. For your readers, they can enter code MBFEARS to unlock the site.

QF: How is your site different from other online discount designer sites like say Gilt?

Pialy: We’re huge fans and early adopters of liquidation flash sale sites like Gilt, Rue La La, One Kings Lane, and Jetsetter and we even love the deals on the social shopping sites like Groupon, BuyWithMe and BlackBoard Eats.

Mintbox is very different.  We partner directly with retailers and act as their strategic marketing arm. We collaborate on cool in-store events such as fashion week tickets, designer meet-and-greets, VIP store events, personal styling session, and so on. While many of our invitations do include a discount, we’re all about shopping for in-season merchandise within the designer’s own freestanding or online stores rather than buying product from last season.

We’re also introducing a loyalty program – so the more you shop at your favorite brand, the better perks you’ll receive.  It’s like adding insider benefits from all your favorite designers onto the credit card you already have in your wallet.  And, to top it off, you get cash back on all Mintbox purchases..

QF: Can you tell me some of the designers that may be featured on Mintbox?

Pialy: We’re collaborating on lots of exciting events around New York Fashion Week and Fashion’s Night Out this year which include Lincoln Center fashion show tickets, discounts in-store, access to exclusive after parties, etc.  We’re partnering with amazing brands, including Vivienne Tam, Paige Denim, THUY, Adam by Adam Lippes, Zang Toi and many more. There are plenty of ways to gain entry, obviously shopping at one of our retailers is the best way, but we are doing some fabulous giveaways exclusively for our Facebook and Twitter followers.

Plus, we’re hosting a private members-only event during fashion week wherein Mintbox members will be wardrobed by celebrity stylists, such as Irene Albright and Patricia Black, and receive ridiculous discounts (too good to be in print) on designs by Chloe, Dolce & Gabbana, Yves Saint Laurent, Christian Dior, Lanvin, Akris, Marc Jacobs, and the list goes on.

QF: How did you become interested and involved in fashion?

Paily: My twin sister, Sonaly Aditya, and I have always been excited about fashion since we were kids, hosting pretend fashion shows in our parent’s living room.  It all started to come to fruition when we produced three charity fashion shows while students at NYU. The designer roster was amazing including Balenciaga, Prada, Donna Karan, Jean Paul Gautier, Dolce & Gabbana, etc.  We had the time of our lives.  We knew then we wanted to be on the business side of fashion but it didn’t happen until after we cut our teeth in the consulting / investment banking worlds and after our MBAs. So I paid my dues and now I’m doing what I love.

QF: Who are some of your favorite designers?

Pialy: I love mixing emerging designers with high fashion.   I have a lot of THUY in my wardrobe and always get stopped on the streets when I wear anything by her.  For Fall, I’m eyeing a leather jacket from Rick Owens and these crazy sexy boots from Balmain by Giuseppe Zanotti.

Since, Zoe Neuschatz, my partner in crime at Mintbox, went to the Adam by Adam Lippes Fall show we’ve been dying to get a hold of one of his shearling jackets – so chic and affordable.

QF: I heard you are personal friends of Thuy. How did you two meet and can we expect to see Thuy working with Mintbox?

Pialy: Thuy Diep and I met in NYC right out of college. A little known secret is that she’s a graduate of Brown University so she’s not only ridiculously talented but also ridiculously smart.  She’s one of my dearest friends.  I really admire her and am proud of what she’s accomplished.  We definitely have some cool collaboration ideas up our sleeves, beginning with New York Fashion Week in September.  I can’t wait to see the Spring 2011 collection.

QF: What’s your favorite luxury?

Pialy: Time.  It’s really our rarest luxury.  I’m lucky to have my friends and family near me but many also live around the world.  So, I appreciate having time to travel and spend quality time with them in London, Paris, Barcelona, Dubai, Mumbai, Berlin, etc.

QF: What is the one thing in life you cannot live without?

Pialy: Those who know me would probably say my camera so I can capture moments in my life – from Thuy’s runway shows to videos of my nieces and nephew, from unique NYC happenings to images of the Atlas Mountains during a road trip in Morocco.  All of these moments have had a profound and lasting effect on me and with my camera I can share them with others.


One Response to “Interview with Mintbox President Pialy Aditya”

Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. Pialy Aditya & Quentin Fears « Quentin Fears: The Fashions - September 22, 2010

    […] Cancer Charity Benefit with The President of Mintbox, Pialy Aditya. Checkout my interview with her HERE and Join […]

Leave a Reply

