Stevieboi Interview

4 Feb

Interview with Young Designer, Stevieboi


Q: Did you ever go to design school? If not, would you ever consider going?

SB: Great question: I never attended any type of school for design. I learned how to do a lot by just testing with different materials, etc. I would love to go to design school to learn more history. I feel it will only take my craft to higher levels.

Q: What are some of your inspirations? You told me once that you where inspired by dreams, particularly nightmares. Can you tell me more about that?

SB: Yes, I am basically a weirdo! I’m very inspired by my nightmares and imagination. I always pull from the images in my head, and turn them into photo-shoot concepts and short films.

Q: Can you tell me a little more about your creative process? Where do you find your materials?

SB: I  have found a lot of my materials on recycled metal and fabric websites. Its very GREEN. I also collect a lot of pieces from old tarnished jewelry & accessories. The creative process is unexplainable I could never honestly explain how I turn alot of these pieces into Gems.

Q: When did you first realize that people were paying attention to your work?

SB: To be honest as soon as I started noticing mimics of my shades.

Q: What is your connection to Lady Gaga? How did she first find out about your work?

SB: Lots of emails. Also a lot of people over at Conde Nast put in great words for me.

Q: What did it feel like seeing her on stage wearing something that you had created?

SB: It was amazing. Honest answer, I didn’t cry or act crazy.  At this point in my career I look at it as work. Well, sometimes I do and sometimes I don’t. It’s fun and what I enjoy.

Q: I just read that you made Anna Dello Russo, the Editor of Vogue Japan a pair of glasses. What was that like? Did you totally freakout?

SB: Of-course, I love Anna! I have a great relationship with her beyond her position at Vogue. Making a pair of sunglasses for her was an honor. I am also very honored to have been given a page in the current issue of Japan Vogue.

Q: Now you are beginning to make other accessories and even clothes. What is the idea behind your line, and the feeling you want it to invoke?

SB: The world is dying in my opinion.  My collection Coexist concept its a mixture of world crises, history, religion, etc. Coexistence is the reason we are here, and thats a key element in my next collection. The collection is full of Cross Necklaces, Long Nun Inspired dresses, Cloaks, etc.

Q: What is next for Stevieboi?

SB: Besides clothing & accessories I’m working on my first swim line to debut in April.

Q: Is it true you are going to work with Celebrity Stylist, Rachel Zoe on an upcoming project??

SB: Yes. And I’m really excited about that.

Q: Who are some of your favorite designers?

SB: I’m not really sure.

Q: Who are some of your favorite musicians or bands?

SB: Grace Jones, Mia, Kelis, Kelly Price

Q: If you weren’t a designer what would you do?

SB: A very savy business man or a musician.

Q: When you are not busy making fabulous eyewear, accessories, and clothing what do you do?

SB: Do interviews, check emails, and yell at people to get shit in order.

Q: The Beatles or Kanye?

SB: Neither.

Q: Is there anything else you would like to say??

SB: I love what you do Quentin! You are an icon in the making so lets continue to strive and takeover the world 😉

One Response to “Stevieboi Interview”

  1. Debbie June 28, 2011 at 5:03 am #

    Stevie Boi is an icon i love him so so much!

Leave a Reply

