Kid Sister

16 May

Kid Sister 

                                                       Photo: Angela Boatwright

A Hip-Hop sensation opens up about having

no money, her first run in with Kanye West, 

and the adjustment to sudden fame. Check it!

Interview: Quentin Fears

What is your day like?

I’ve been doing interviews all morning, and I’ m really, really

tired, but it’s cool. You know what I mean.

But that’s what you do, right? It’s a part of your job. So

how long have you been rapping?

For five years. Yeah, literally five years.

Is this something that just came about, or have you

always been into music?

I’ve always been into music, but I definitely never thought

I would be a rapper, and I never thought that I would be a

professional musician.

You went to college for film, right?

Yeah, I wanted to work on films. I don’t know if you have,

or you have known someone that has worked on movie

sets, but it’s really hard. It’s really intense, so I decided that

wasn’t for me. I needed to find a new job in Chicago. So I

just started doing something else, these little ghetto random

shows. Not ghetto, mostly parties, dirty, crazy, dance parties.

They were at hole-in-the-wall dive bars, but they were a lot

of fun. My brother and Flosstradamus started these circuit

parties where I could get my start.

So you and your friends started to have these parties,

and you were like, “You know what, I’ll rap.”

Yeah, my brother would have these ticketed events, and I

would just jump up on this stage. It wasn’t really a stage, it

was more like a platform where I would do a song or two,

and that’s how I got my start.

Wow, that’s crazy and random. How did you end up

meeting A-Trak?

He was friends with my brother already, and we met at a

festival in Chicago called Pitchfork. We met there and we

were like, “Yes let’s work together.” We started working

together pretty much off the bat.

It seems as if everything that happened with you

was really organic. You weren’t trying too hard to do

anything. You were like, “Hey I’ll start rapping,” and just

ended up meeting the right people at the right time.

And it worked! It was crazy. Aladdin was like, “Hey let’s

work.” And I was like, “Cool,” and that’s how it happened.

It seems like that’s how things get started.

Even with like the “Gucci Rag Top” song. It was like hey,

Gucci Mane is now on my song. Okay? It was like, what?

So were you networking, meeting people, getting

connects and you were like, “Let’s do this. Let’s do that.

Let’s make this happen.”

Not even. It was more like we were just people hanging out.

Even with the song with Gucci Mane. We didn’t know he

was going to get in on it. Everything in my career literally

just happened to me.

That’s awesome. So A-Trak was the conduit for you to

met Kanye?

Yeah, of course.

What was that like? He seems to be a perfectionist.

Were you intimidated? I mean, you are still new to the

game.

Yeah I was a little nervous when I first met him, but mostly

because of the circumstance I met him in. I met him at the

Live Aid Concert at Giants Stadium or something. I think I

was like young 27. I hadn’t even been to Florida yet. Well, at

that time I hadn’t really seen that much in my life.

At that time you hadn’t really left Chicago?

Well, I had lived in Brooklyn, and I worked in showrooms

for a while. I mean, I wasn’t completely isolated. I definitely

didn’t have any money and couldn’t do anything. But

anyway, I met Kanye at Live Aid, and it was like literally Bon

Jovi, U2, Ludacris, I mean all of these stars. Alicia Keys, like

everyone was there. So it wasn’t intimidating, it was more

overwhelming.

You just kind of got thrown into the mix, right?

Yeah they were like, “Okay, here is

Kanye.” I was like, “Okay there you are,

have a great show, bye.” He was actually

a very nice person.

Yeah, sometimes there are a lot of things on him, like

him freaking out or screaming. You didn’t experience

that sort of stuff? I’m hoping not.

No, you know as artist you have to interact with a lot of

people, and a lot of artists are really isolated. They like

hole up in their studios and they paint or whatever. I think

the parts of your brain that all artists use are the same.

But fortunately, or unfortunately, musicians, and especially

rappers, are expected to be social. I mean, when you are in

the public eye you are expected to be cordial, polite, always

have a face on. You have to be on. I get it.

To be on, cordial, polite always have a face on. You have to be

on. I get it.

Yeah many of them not all, a few of them but some of them are still

artists.

OK less about him and more about you. How do you describe

your sound, your music? How do you go about creating this? I

feel like you are almost creating this new genre.

I love electronic music and I always will but I’m not completely going

into that direction. I’m going slightly into a new direction. It’s going to

be a little more hip-hop oriented.

Do you think Hip-Hop sells more, or is it what you are interested

in now?

It’s what I’m into now. It’s definitely easier for me to do now because

it’s more organic writing songs that way.

So you your stage name, Kid Sister from your little brother

because of a toy doll, Kid Sister that was hung in the eighty’s

that you wanted?

And I never got!

Are there any other artists that you are interested?

Umm, Yeah I don’t know what’s a touch question.

Ok, who do you have on your Ipod now?

I definitely like Das Racist.

Das Racist. I love them we just interviewed them for Ladygunn

a couple of weeks ago. Yeah, they are making a really cool

sound.

I also like really early 90’s R&B so I really don’t know.

No, that’ cool. Like what??

Jodeci, really early R-Kelly.

I hear you. I was born in 81 so that was middle school for me so

that will never go away.

Yeah, I’m really liking that era of music. They were making the

cheesiest pop, but it was so fun.

Like SWV, I get so weak in the knees.

Early 90’s. That’s what I like.

Do you think Growing up in Chicago affected your sound and

flow as a Rapper.

It definitely informs everything I do as musician. Do you know that

guy Patrick Stump from Fall Out Boy?

Definitely!

He hit me up on Twitter.

Really??

He was like checkout this article I just did. And I was like cool and

I did. They asked him, who is one of your favorite Artists? He said

Kid Sister, Unforgiving Chicago Music and it’s true. Chicago is such

a great place. It’s so cool and normal. Chicago has always been

behind me and I will always be behind it.

Incredible. So when are you touring and when is your album

coming out?

Ok go ahead and ask me. We are working on the project now.

I’m going on tour with A-Trak in April, so we’ll be back on the road

through May. In June I’m touring with another Artist.

When will you be in New York?

I was there not that long ago for Bent, a music festival in Brooklyn.

Were you there?

No, we keep missing each other. Since this is the Surprise

Issue of Ladygunn, What is your biggest surprise ever?

The Biggest Surprise? My Career. When I think I know what’s

happening everything changes up. I’m like oh ok I guess we are

going to Australia

I wish that was my Surprise That I’m a huge amazing artist and

I’m going to Australia.

Okay, I guess that’s pretty crazy.

That’s insane.

Quentin literally I had no money. I literally didn’t know what to do with

my life. You know those infomercials that they have on television

about going to college “Get up off that sofa and stop playing video

games”. It’s so oppressive. That was me, I swear! I was almost a

University of Phoenix online candidate. I was like two clicks away

from going there.

Featured in Ladygunn
Leave a Reply

